Forum

Advice as a musician

Forums Latest Post Info
Total Posts: 2

Hey Kelli,

First of all I just want to say how grateful I am to you for sharing your beautiful music over the years. I first heard of you through a single you did with Sneaker Pimps called “Velvet divorce” for the movie A Life Less Ordinary. Even as a young teenager I was struck with the beauty, depth, originality and soul of your voice and ever since then, I’ve gotten more and more into your music, especially your solo albums. Your song-writing, melodies and obviously your voice are a constant amazement to me. Now as an aspiring musician myself, I also see your talent as really unique, you stayed true as an original and innovative artist and that’s what I love most about you and your music. I can imagine for such a beautiful women, lets be honest! You must have got offers to do some soulless pop or something like that but you always followed your own path and have been very successful just like all the greats. So I’m just wondering what advice would you give to me on what you think makes a musician successful and how to go about it. I’m currently studying music at the ACM in Guildford, Surrey and I’m in a few bands. Here’s a link if you have a spare moment to some material, very much inspired by you http://www.youtube.com/phil212b

Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated and be very inspiring for me. Thank you again and I hope to see you in concert very soon when you start touring.

All the best,
Phil x

Total Posts: 51

Hi Phil,

Thanks for your message. I am so pleased that you find my music inspiring, I checked out your Lose Control track, cool song.

I guess one of the most important things is to keep experimenting with all kinds of production and always try and achieve the best ‘sonic’ clarity as possible with your final recordings.